Citizen Action Monitor

My reply to Hedy Fry, federal Liberal MP for Vancouver Centre, re: Stop Kinder Morgan campaign

Canadians have a right to know the “benefits and risks” Cabinet used to make this planet-wrecking decision.

No 1841 Posted by fw, December 6, 2016

To make a long email story short, yesterday, December 5, I received the following email from Hedy Fry, federal Liberal MP for Vancouver Centre. It turns out that back on July 5, I had been contacted by a now-forgotten activist organization to “Take Action Now” and send a Stop Kinder Morgan message via the Do Gooder website. So, I did good and signed a form letter to the Prime Minister’s Office, with cc’s to BC Liberal MPs, including Ms. Fry.

First, Hedy Fry’s email to me, in response to a July 5, Do Gooder email sent under my name.

Following Ms. Fry’s email to me is my reply to her.

From: hedy.fry@parl.gc.ca [mailto:hedy.fry@parl.gc.ca]
Sent: Monday, December 5, 2016 2:31 PM
To: frawhi24@gmail.com
Subject: RE: Stop Kinder Morgan

Hello,

Thank you for writing to me with regard to the recent Kinder Morgan approval.

For 23 years as the Member of Parliament for Vancouver Centre and also ‎as a Member of Cabinet I passionately represented the views of my constituents to Ottawa.

I was therefore pleased when my government re-opened the Kitsilano Coast Guard base and expanded its environmental response capacity in partnership with First Nations.

I was very pleased that the Northern Gateway project has been rejected and a ban on crude oil tanker traffic on the Northwest Coast will be put into law. This builds on our recently announced Oceans Protection Plan and preserves the Great Bear Rain Forest and Sea for future generations.

Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson, a large number‎ of my constituents and First Nations in the area made arguments opposing the Kinder Morgan pipeline and tanker traffic. I relayed those arguments to the Prime Minister and Ministers responsible for this decision, as did many of my BC colleagues.

Obviously the Cabinet weighed ‎the benefits and risks and made their decision. I am not happy with that decision, and will work with everyone to ensure that the 157 conditions are implemented by Kinder Morgan as required under law.

I hope that we also work together to ensure that the Oceans Protection Plan has strong input as it is being implemented. If you recall, the Oceans strategy was brought in by the Honourable David Anderson with a 5-year review and expansion clause. The Harper government did not do this. Our Prime Minister thinks the Plan is long overdue and has put $1.5 billion into its implementation.

I look forward to working with you to protect our marine environment and to implement a strong environmental strategy.

Sincerely,

Hon. Hedy Fry, PC, MP

Vancouver Centre

**********

My December 5 email to Hedy Fry

Subject: Stop Kinder Morgan

Dear Hedy Fry,

Thank you for your response to my email.

You mentioned that you relayed to those who made the Kinder Morgan decision, opposing arguments from your constituents. I would have been interested to have seen a summary of those arguments.

Speaking of opposing voices, Green Party member Dimitri Lascaris raised a compelling scientific argument against KM during his December 2nd, 20-minute interview on The Real News Network. I believe that I captured the essence of his concern in the title of my blog post yesterday: Facing planet-wrecking 5.9 degrees Celsius global warming by 2100, Trudeau approves Kinder Morgan: It’s inconceivable Trudeau doesn’t know that increasing production of tar sands oil will wreck the planet.

I encourage you to read my post, which includes my abridged transcript of Dimitri’s interview. He argues that Prime Minister Trudeau has imperiled the planet by failing to give sufficient weight to recent scientific evidence: consequently, his decision was ill-informed.

Turning to your promise to work with everyone to “ensure that the 157 conditions are implemented by Kinder Morgan as required under law”, unfortunately, this good-faith gesture will do nothing to stop the increase in tar sands emissions once producers begin to significantly ramp up production to fill greatly expanded pipeline capacity.

Finally, you write: “Obviously the Cabinet weighed ‎the benefits and risks and made their decision.” Do you know if these “benefits and risks” have been made public? Although I appreciate the confidentiality that attaches to Cabinet documents and discussions, since the Prime Minister has chosen to play dice with our future, at the very least, we have a right to know the arguments used to decide our fate.

I look forward to your timely response.

Regards,

Frank White

SEE ALSO

For any who believe that climate change is not serious business for serious-minded people, watch Noam Chomsky’s Monday-night address to a live audience at Riverside Church in New York City. The video of his address was broadcast today on Democracy Now. A transcript is included.

Chomsky’s worried about climate change, Trudeau not so much, apparently. So, who are you going to trust for the truth?

Noam Chomsky: Trump’s Climate Change Denialism Will Accelerate Global Race to Destruction by Democracy Now, December 6, 2016 – “…what happened in Marrakech was a quite astounding spectacle. The hope of the world for saving us from this impending disaster was China—authoritarian, harsh China. That’s where hopes were placed. At the same time, the leader of the free world, the richest, most powerful country in history, was acting in such a way as to doom the hopes to total disaster. It’s an astonishing spectacle. And it’s no less astounding that it received almost no comment. You can—something to think about.”

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2016 by in environmental activism, moral & ethical counterpower, personal narratives, political action.
