Gov Rick Perry on global warming. This is one scary dude!

No 250 Posted by fw, August 18, 2011

My re-post of a recent provocative Grist article captured this passage by the inimitable David Roberts –

For my part, when I see people denying facts and bullying scientists in order to perpetuate the dominance of fossil fuel interests that are killing people and threatening my children’s futures, I am inclined to tell them to go f*ck themselves. That won’t resonate with their social/tribal perspectives, but that’s because I find their social/tribal perspectives repugnant and worthy of social censure. I want to beat them.”.

I wonder what delicious expletive Roberts would have for Texas Governor Rick Perry’s widely publicized declaration at a New Hampshire news conference yesterday that climate scientists are manipulating the data for their own financial gain?

BTW, last time I looked, Texas was going up in flames, which prompted the governor to issue a Proclamation for Days of Prayer for Rain in Texas. I’m dumbstruck! This is one scary dude.

Gov. Perry gives a whole new meaning to that old American adage, Anybody can grow up to be president — even a willfully ignorant moron! Of course Perry depends on the support of willfully ignorant voters. Anybody who thinks I’m trying to ridicule some of the Republican presidential candidates and their supporters is right. (Check out the lampoon of Perry at the bottom of the post).

You Tube advises that the embedded version of the1:28-minute video-clip of Gov Perry was disabled by request and the video must now be viewed on You Tube here. But there’s still the transcript –

TRANSCRIPT (reposted from Democracy Now)

Gov. Rick Perry: “The issue of global warming has been politicized. I think that there are a substantial number of scientists who have manipulated data so that they will have dollars rolling into their projects. And I think we’re seeing it almost weekly or even daily, scientists who are coming forward and questioning the original idea that man-made global warming is what is causing the climate to change. And I don’t think, from my perspective, that I want America to be engaged in spending that much money on still a scientific theory that has not been proven and, from my perspective, is more and more being put into question.”

Excuse me Governor, but your blinding scientific illiteracy is showing.

This cartoon by Nick Anderson posted on August 3, 2011 at http://blog.chron.com/nickanderson/ says it all –

RELATED READING

FAIR USE NOTICE: This blog, Citizen Action Monitor, may contain copyrighted material that may not have been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Such material, published without profit, is made available for educational purposes, to advance understanding of human rights, democracy, scientific, moral, ethical, and social justice issues. It is published in accordance with the provisions of the 2004 Supreme Court of Canada ruling and its six principle criteria for evaluating fair dealing
Leave a Reply

