Almost Gone, The Ballad of Bradley Manning – Video musical tribute

Bradley Manning, a much ignored, true American hero

No 692 Posted by fw, March 13, 2013

“Bradley Manning faces life imprisonment for doing a service to the whole of humanity by allegedly leaking documents to Wikileaks that exposed for all to see the lies and the war crimes that our political leaders and the military forces they command carry out in our name. Rather than face prison in a US kangaroo court aimed at deterring any future whistleblowers, Bradley Manning should be lauded as a truth teller who helped lift the veil on the secrecy which has hidden from view the depths of inhumanity and depravity that lie behind this era of endless war.” (Source: Stop the War Coalition)

Watch the musical tribute to Bradley, followed by the ballad’s lyrics. (Video uploaded December 14, 2011)

Almost Gone (The Ballad Of Bradley Manning)
Written by Graham Nash and James Raymond

Locked up in a white room, underneath a glaring light
Every 5 minutes, they’re asking me if I’m alright
Locked up in a white room naked as the day I was born
24 bright light, 24 all alone

What I did was show some truth to the working man
What I did was blow the whistle and the games began

Tell the truth and it will set you free
That’s what they taught me as a child
But I can’t be silent after all I’ve seen and done
24 bright light I’m almost gone, almost gone

Locked up in a white room, dying to communicate
Trying to hang in there underneath a crushing wait
Locked up in a white room I’m always facing time
24 bright light, 24 down the line

What I did was show some truth to the working man
What I did was blow the whistle and the games began

But I did my duty to my country first
That’s what they taught me as a man
But I can’t be silent after all I’ve seen and done
24 bright light I’m almost gone, almost gone
(Treat me like a human, Treat me like a man )

SEE ALSO

FAIR USE NOTICE: This blog, Citizen Action Monitor, may contain copyrighted material that may not have been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Such material, published without profit, is made available for educational purposes, to advance understanding of human rights, democracy, scientific, moral, ethical, and social justice issues. It is published in accordance with the provisions of the 2004 Supreme Court of Canada ruling and its six principle criteria for evaluating fair dealing
Leave a Reply

